The Kitten, the Witches and the Bad Wardrobe - Willow & Tara Forever

General Chat  || Kitten  || WaV  || Pens  || Mi2  || GMP  || TiE  || FAQ  || Feed - The Kitten, the Witches and the Bad Wardrobe

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Gud's Fic Selection
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2001 3:46 pm 
Author Topic: Gud's Fic Selection: Love, Honor, and Obey
Gudanov
Doll's eye crystal

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This is my first attempt at the Gudanov fic selection. I picked ‘Love, Honor, and Obey’ by Kirk B. It can be found on ExtraFlamey: Love, Honor, and Obey.
Please read it and post comments too, on the story, my comments or both. Fic writers live on feedback so don’t be shy.

A plot! I gotta have plot to like a story and this one is strong and consistent. No major plot holes either, it feels well thought out. In general the text flowed well too, I didn’t stumble over words as I read. I enjoyed the interaction between Willow and Tara during the length of the story. I also thought Giles was done well too. Khan was a good character too, I felt sorry for the big guy. I thought the action parts were great. Fight scenes are hard to do, and I thought you did a really good job. The pacing in chapters 7 through 11 was so good I had a hard time reading slow enough to make comments.

Good things that struck me as I read. This is pretty random.

Chapter 1
Some nice description at the very beginning. Makes for a strong beginning.

Chapter 2
I thought Giles was done nicely. His dialogue seemed spot on.

Chapter 3
She wiggled her fingers in a min-wave. "Hi." - Very Willow. Nice touch.

Liked Ariel talking about discovering she was dead.

Chapter 4
Liked the transition from Chapter 3 to Chapter 4.

Willow shook her head. "Nothing."
"Willow, you are a very talented young woman, but lying has never been one of your strong suites. You have a tendency to...how should I say this? Crinkle up your face."